Christmas get-together

Pictures from the Christmas get-together of IMPRS students on December 17th,

including Punsch, Lebkuchen & Erlanger Weihnachtsmarkt.


We wish all IMPRS students, alumni, family and friends

Merry Christmas

and a happy New Year 2019!

9th IMPRS Annual Meeting & 5th MPL Autumn Academy

We were teaming up with the successful MPL Autumn Academy series and jointly held our 9th IMPRS-PL Annual Meeting in Gößweinstein, Germany from October 9th to 12th, 2018. Talks from IMPRS students, poster sessions, lab tours at MPL, block lectures by Andreas Maier (FAU) and Florian Marquardt (MPL) and invited talks by Kerry Vahala (Caltech, USA), Lorenzo Marrucci (Università di Napoli Federico II, Italy), Dorothea Samtleben (University Leiden, The Netherlands) and Nicolas Treps (Laboratoire Kastler Brossel, France) covered intriguing research areas. Evening discussions and jointly spent coffee breaks stimulated a lot of fruitful scientific exchange between the master students of the 5th MPL Autumn Academy, the IMPRS students and the invited professors.

Mallika Suresh received the best poster award whereas Golnoush Shafiee won the award for the best student talk. Sona Davtyan was elected as student spokesperson for the upcoming year.

Soft skill course about "Project Management"

Once or twice a year, IMPRS-PL organizes soft skills courses. In 2018, Rüdiger Herbst (ChallengeLearning) gave a two-day course on "project management".

In previous years we have been taught by Justin Mullins and Mark Buchanan ( how to write scientific papers and documents and Dr Dennis Fink (Mediomix) discussed with us the different career options for post-docs in his seminar about “Career building for scientists”.

8th IMPRS Annual Meeting

The 2017 IMPRS Annual Meeting meeting was held in Gößweinstein from September 25th to 28th, 2017. Invited talks and block-lectures were given by Antoine Kouchner (Paris Diderot University), Christoph Lienau (University of Oldenburg), Allard Mosk (Utrecht University), Isabelle Staude (FSU Jena), Stephan Götzinger (MPL Erlangen) and Joachim von Zanthier (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg). Golnoush Shafiee was elected as the Student Spokesperson 2017/2018. Cameron Okoth and Golnoush Shafiee received the best poster award and best talk award respectively.

Our Partners