Rank Prize for Optoelectronics for Philip Russell

26.04.2017, 12:00

Russell, Knight and Birks at a reunion at the University of Bath in November 2011.

The team that invented and developed photonic crystal fibre (PCF) has been awarded the 2018 Rank Prize for Optoelectronics.  MPL's Philip Russell, together with postdocs Tim Birks and Jonathan Knight, realized the first solid-core PCF in late 1995 at the University of Southampton. Shortly afterwards they moved to the University of Bath, where many of the first breakthroughs were made and where Birks and Knight are now full professors.

The £90,000 prize, which will be awarded at a ceremony in London on February 12th, 2018, will be equally divided amongst the three inventors.

The Rank Prize Funds is a charitable organisation which seeks to recognise excellence in specific fields of research and reward innovators for their dedication and outstanding contribution. The Funds were established by the late Lord Rank in 1972.